North West Strategic Growth Partnership

The North West Strategic Growth Partnership is a unique partnership established in 2016 through the North South Ministerial Council that brings together senior Government officials from all Government departments in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland to meet with Donegal County Council and Derry City and Strabane District Council to deliver on the strategic priorities aimed at bringing real and positive change for the North West City Region.

The Partnership is jointly led by Donegal County Council and Derry City and Strabane District Council, in conjunction with and supported by the Irish Government and The Executive Office.  The International Centre for Local and Regional Development (ICLRD) provides strategic support to the Partnership.

In addition to the two Council Chief Executives, Cathaoirleach of Donegal County Council and the Mayor of Derry City and Strabane District Council and, the chair and co- chair of the North West Regional Development Group, senior officials from all the Government Departments in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland are represented on the Partnership as follows:

Northern Ireland

Department for Communities

Department for Finance

Department for Infrastructure

Department for Education

Department for Health

Department for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

Department for the Economy

NI Executive Office

Republic of Ireland

Department of the Taoiseach

Department for Public Expenditure and Reform

Department for Housing, Planning and Local Government

Department for Social Protection

Department for Foreign Affairs and Trade

Department for Regional Development, Rural Affairs, Arts and the Gaeltacht

Department of Education & Skills

Department of Jobs, Enterprise & Innovation

Department of Health

The North West Strategic Growth Plan – A Model for Regional Development and Growth of the North West of the Island of Ireland and current North West City Region Ireland/Northern Ireland Statement of Regional Priorities are available below for viewing and download.

North West Regional Development Group

The North West Regional Development Group is an all-council working group, the purpose of which is to develop, agree, implement, monitor and report on work programmes across the agreed three Regional Development Pillars (Regional Economic Growth and Investment; Regional Physical and Environmental Development; and Regional Social and Community Cohesion and Well-Being) – at least initially); and, on an ongoing basis, to promote and support a cohesive approach to North West working and the mobilisation of a range of resources to support work programmes.

The work of this Development Group will centre on ‘place-building’; on aligning the priorities and objectives of the different bodies throughout the region incl. various units within local government (especially as it pertains to the LECP and Community Planning processes). It is envisaged that upon identification of priority themes, task groups will be organised around each – and will involve other relevant key regional stakeholders; which in turn would contribute to a clear diagnosis of needs, opportunities, threats, and spatial patterns.

The Development Group meets every two to three months; with membership of the Grouping including elected representatives from each Council and the CEOs and Senior Directors of the Councils. The work of the Group is supported by a secretariat – based in Derry City and Strabane District Council. Engagement with key regional partners/stakeholders and regional/national government takes place through sectoral sub-groups, with these key regional partners/stakeholders invited to participate in and attend full meeting of the Group as appropriate.

Through this model, both Donegal County Council and Derry City and Strabane District Council are stressing the importance of strategic, joined-up action – with a strong weight attached to regional advocacy.